top of page

My Sinulog in 700 words

Banners of yellow and red. Candles and prayers. Dances and festivities. The Senior Sto. Nino.


All of these and more describe the most anticipated and the grandest festival of the south. Some of us offered our time by completing the #9/9 days novena mass. Some of us dance on the grand parade. Most of us choose to stay home and avoid the traffic. I know this is too late for me to share so just bear with me.


The Mammoth Crowd of Faith

(c) google images

Sinulog Novena Mass | January 19, 2018 | Foto by: Google Images


Imagine the mammoth crowd with oozing faith for the little boy who will become our savior one day. Cliche as you call it but no words can describe the display of faith in every Sinulog Novena Mass. This year's 9-day novena masses were more secure and more organized than the past years with entrances and exits more defined and separated, and people don't have to bump each other to and fro the Basilica. I have witnessed firsthand this massive showcase of religious belief for our dear Senior Sto. Nino who is indeed the 'magnet of love'.


For those who failed to attend this religious event, make sure you attend not to take pictures and meet new friends but to pray for your intentions. I recommend to arrive 30 minutes (or more especially on the first and last two days) before your targeted schedule especially on the evening. The Basilica is already crowded approximately 30 meters with people who, like you, want to attend the mass inside the pilgrim center. Don't forget to bring water and umbrellas since the Sinulog falls 'miraculously' on a rainy week of January. For next year's prep I think.



The 'Life Dance' of Sinulog

Tisa Performing Arts during their Grand Parade Street Dancing | January 21, 2018 | Foto by: Tisa Performing Arts FB Page

Tisa Performing Arts Festival Queen and Miss Sky Ma. Sonia Fate Cal | January 21, 2018 | Foto by: Khennedy Gaviola

Actually, it was my first time to see Sinulog in a different lense. Street dancing and the Ritual Dance for me was just 'mandatory' part of the Sinulog festivities, but I was wrong when I opted to join the Grand Parade and I found out it was more than mandatory. I saw contingents with different backstories like one contingent whose majority of dancers were Moslems to show the unity of religion and peace.


I thought that conceptualizing a presentation, moreover a Sinulog dance ritual, was easy like taking a picture. No, I was wrong - again! It needs time and effort and great minds to create a concept that is befitting of a Sinulog dance ritual. The months of practices of the Tisa Performing Arts with tiring reruns in between made the dancers and their queen, my dear friend, resilient to stress during the Sinulog sa Barangay Dakbayan and the Grand Parade.


Their Sinulog based ritual dance represented the culture and life of the Tisa community on how we live and on how we face our daily obstacles in life. The dancers were composed of the youth sector (with some of my friends and/or co-volunteers) and ordinary Tisaanons with extraordinary passion and determination to persevere in the waves of life.


With them is their queen with incomparable beauty and intelligence. She won the prestigious pageant in our community. She never failed to amaze me especially during the Grand Parade. Despite the tiring situation she was in, she managed to represent the women of Tisa and that was being resilient and happy despite the challenges of life. A befitting queen in the making indeed.


I would like to acknowledge the staffs and the barangay council behind the ritual dance. I am sure you had your share of stress and dilemma but for Senior Sto. Nino, you did it and that is more important than winning.


What was my part during the Grand Parade? It doesn't matter actually as long as I offered my help in my best effort and as long as I could. I neither want to be in the front row and receive all the credit nor writing this blog to be famous. I just wanted to share a 360 degrees experience that some or most of us didn't have the chance. I just wanted to share the overwhelming presence of happiness this festivity had given me and of course with and for Senior Sto. Nino. That's all that counts.


P.S. You might be wondering why we have two contingents, yes we do have and long story. Anyways, I would like to congratulate Tribu Maampuung Tisaanon for winning the 3rd Best Musicality during the Grand Parade. Viva Tisa!





bottom of page